Flannel Friday Color Themed Sets

There’s not much more exciting to my children’s librarian persona than a huge pile of fletboard pieces.  Although my co-workers would probably disagree and say that pretty much anything gets me really excited, making decorations, planning a cool program, being at work in general…  But I really do love feltboards.  The set I want to share with everyone today is one that I’ve been working on for a while now.  Just a piece here or there in between other projects.  My supervisor had approached me with the project several months ago that it would be fun to have sets of felt boards that are all in the same colors.  So for instance on Valentine’s Day we could easily discuss other objects that are red or pink, or for Halloween we could look at other orange items.  Or you could take out just the food items or animals of all different colors for story times on those themes.  Basically they could be used to fit in with all different kinds of storytimes and it would be easier than searching through all the felt board stories for just the orange objects or just animals.  So here’s everything together.  Such a nice site 🙂

And all the peices organized by color…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I would love suggestions for other objects to add to the sets, especially the purple, gray, and orange, maybe blue too.  Feel free to make a comment and suggest any other animals, foods, etc… 🙂

Mollie has the round up which you can find HERE on her blog later today.

5 responses to “Flannel Friday Color Themed Sets

  1. What about a gray cloud? A blue lake or swimming pool? A purple popsicle – the twin pop with 2 sticks! Obviously you are not the only one who gets excited by this kind of stuff – maybe I need to become a children’s librarian!

  2. Maybe a gray kitten or computer. I little red-headed boy is orange. Other things you could make in any color: bow, shoe, billiard ball, guitar, cupcake. Love the idea!

  3. Wow! That is a LOT of work! Well done!

  4. Great ideas guys! I will definitley be adding them to our sets 🙂

  5. Mollie,
    I am a former children’s librarian, now retired, and I, too, love felt boards. So much so, that I have written a 244-page book, FELT BOARD MAGIC, which I sell in CD format. If you would like a copy, I will gladly give you one. If you like it, perhaps you could give me a plug on your blog. Either way, it is yours to keep, and I think you will find many new ideas for using your felt board. Just e-mail your mailing address and I’ll get it in the mail to you.
    Susan

Leave a comment