Flannel Friday-Another Valentine’s Day Set

So, apparently I haven’t had enough with Valentine’s Day yet and it’s still January!  I would have posted this felt board last week, or better yet two weeks ago when everyone else did [blush], but I only just finished it this week 🙂

A co-worker of mine found an idea for these cute little Valentine envelopes on Pinterest and ultimately they came from Etsy.
So  my co-woker and I wrote a cute little poem to go with the envelopes.


Six Little Valentines

6 little Valentines were sent to my house,
The first one said, “I love you, From Mouse.” (light purple)

5 little Valentines in my mailbox,
The second one said, “Be mine, Love Fox.”  (light pink)

4 little Valentines full of love,
The third one said, “You are sweet, From Dove.” (light blue)

3 little Valentines just for me,
The fourth one said, “Be my honey, Love Bee.”  (dark pink)

2 little Valentine’s mailed with care,
The fifth one said, “Here’s a hug, From Bear.” (dark purple)

The last little Valentine, from my friend Jay,
This one said, “Happy Valentine’s Day!”  (dark blue/teal)

— by Elizabeth Stefanov and Miss Meghan (me!)
Don’t worry, Elizabeth okay-ed her full name printed here 🙂


So the little animals go in to an envelope, I made the hearts they are holding match the envelope they go into, but you can make yours however you want of course!  To begin the envelopes are on the feltboard and as you read the poem take down each envelope, open it and put the animal back on the board.  I’m excited to try this one out for Valentine’s Day storytimes!!!

You can find the rest of the Flannel Friday Roundup at Anne’s blog sotomorrowblog.com.

18 responses to “Flannel Friday-Another Valentine’s Day Set

  1. So much work must have gone in to this, but it is truly fab!

  2. I love all the details. Including the stamp and the address was a great choice!

  3. Very impressive! This set is a MUST have! Hope I have time to make a similar one for our Old-fashioned Royal Valentine’s Day Party. I know just the book that I want to share! But I might tweak so it is “royal” enough for our knights and princesses. 😉

  4. Such detailed work! They’re fantastic!

  5. I looooove this, how brilliant

  6. YES, THANK YOU. I have those pinned on Pinterest as well with the idea to make a flannelboard. Now, I don’t even need to think of a rhyme thanks to you!

  7. This is AMAZING. If I have time to make a version of this, I am so going to use it. Awesome, awesome job!

  8. This is sooo cute and imaginative! I’ve been eyeing those felt valentines for months but couldn’t think of a way to use them. Will definitely be doing this one for Valentine’s Day next year. Thank you so much for sharing!

  9. This is worth the accolades it’s getting. Beautiful work that kids will love and will last a long time. Thanks for sharing it!

  10. Very detailed! I have this “pinned” to make. I’m sure the kids will love it.

  11. Pingback: Flannel Friday: Six Little Valentines | storytime katie

  12. I really like this!! =)

  13. Pingback: Mail! | storytime katie

  14. I love this! Thanks for sharing your poem. I am headed to the store for some felt right now 🙂

  15. Pingback: Burnham Bunch Storytime: Will you be my Valentine? | Captain's Log

  16. Pingback: Six Little Valentines Rhyme | Sunflower Storytime

  17. Pingback: Happy Valentine’s Day (Storytime) | Sunflower Storytime

  18. Pingback: Happy Valentine’s Day! | Sunflower Storytime

Leave a comment