Up, Up and Away Storytime

I only had one storytime this week as I am off on Thursday for my oldest daughter’s spring concert at school.  But it was a perfect day to do this theme since it was SUPER windy all day.  We read stories about balloons and kites.

We started with the poem “5 Little Kites” originally shared by storytimekatie.com
Photobucket

Five Little Kites
One little kite in the sky so blue,
Along came another, then there were two.

Two little kites flying high above me,
Along came another, then there were three.

Three little kites, just watch them soar,
Along came another, then there were four.

Four little kites, so high and alive
Along came another, then there were five.

Five little kites dancing across the sky,
What a sight to see, way up high!
From ~  Step By Step — Kite Theme

I had two felt stories for this theme.  The first is the typical felt board and the second is more of a string story.

We read Balloons, Balloons, Balloons by Dee Lillegard and I had the children bring up the correct color balloon as we read the story.  I also made some extra colors for larger groups.  There is also a repeating phrase throughout the book
“Snap Snap, Clap Clap, Balloons Balloons Balloons.”  For the “Snap” I just had them slap their legs, since it’s hard for little ones to snap.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Then we read a really cute book called Someone Bigger by Jonathan Emmett.  This is a cute story about a little boy who wants to fly a kite but his dad thinks he’s too small.  The dad, however, gets pulled up by the kite and all sorts of people and animals from the town grab on to the string to help pull him down and they are all pulled up as well.  At the end it is only the little boy who is able to hold on to the kite without being pulled up!

Photobucket

I decided to make this into a kind of string story.  I made a kite out of construction paper, laminated it, put some thin dowel rods on the back and a small ring so I could hang it up to use.  Then I glued on a super long ribbon.  I traced the images from the book onto paper, colored them in, and laminated them and then glued on a clothespin so the kids could come up and clip their character to the string.  Some of the younger ones need help with this part.  They loved how it was different and while some did try the old stick your piece to the felt board method, most of them were attempting to clip the clothespin to the ribbon.  🙂

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Kay from librarystorytimeabcs is hosting the Flannel Friday roundup today.

5 responses to “Up, Up and Away Storytime

  1. Really cute string story!

  2. I love your idea for Someone Bigger – it would be great to use on a very long paint stir stick with velcro. I’ll be borrowing this idea.
    Thanks

  3. what a great idea! In BC, Canada, we have our annual, Summer Reading Club for kids, and this year the theme is “Up, up, and away!” You have some great ideas in here, that I will use for my storytime program next week!

  4. This is fabulous! Would you mind sharing those images you drew with me?

    • meghan villhauer

      Hi, I don’t work at this library anymore, but the pictures from Someone Bigger I just traced onto paper out of the book and then colored them in. The kites and balloons were just from google searches that I traced on to felt. I’m so glad you like this storytime!

Leave a comment