First Day of Winter Felt Board ~ Flannel Friday

I love this story by Denise Flemming called The First Day of Winter (sung to the tune of The First Day of Christmas).  I thought it would make such a fun felt board story with all the pieces that you can add to the snowman!

The_First_Day_of_Winter

The song is catchy and well known so it’s a great one to use as the parents usually pick it up and join in, and then I don’t have to sing alone! 🙂

I made the 8 little berries on one long strip of white felt, so they don’t get lost and are easier to put on the snowman.  The same with the buttons that go on the snowman’s body.  I made one set of 3 buttons for the middle ball, and one set of 4 buttons for the bottom snowball.  The 6 eyelash sticks are in 2 groups of 3 sticks on a little bit of white felt.  The three scarves are also attached to each other.

To make the birdseed pockets I cut a pocket shaped piece of cardboard and attached some sticky backed velcro to the back.  The weight of the bird seed makes the pockets too heavy to stick to the felt.  I glued a little bit of birdseed (actually gerbil seed courtesy of the gerbils at the library I worked at a few years ago) on to the top of the cardboard and the felt pocket below the seed.

The gold snap is just your average brass brad.  I just folded back the tabs a second time so they don’t hang over the edge of the hat strap.

I made the maple leaf belt by gluing the stems of the leaves around a piece of yarn.

IMG_5495[1]

You can find the rest of the Flannel Friday Roundup at K Leigh’s blog “Storytime ABC’s”

5 responses to “First Day of Winter Felt Board ~ Flannel Friday

  1. Very nice! Thanks.

  2. I don’t know this book, but it sounds like a lot of fun. Your pieces turned out so cool!

  3. I don’t know this book either, but I will soon. Your pieces are fun and colorful! Thanks for the tips – they make so much sense. My berries and buttons for my snowmen stories are always missing, great idea to put them on one strip. ~ jane

  4. I haven’t seen this book before, but it looks like it will work great with my toddlers!

  5. I love how you figured out a way to keep the little pieces in place. Ingenious! I will have to copy this.

Leave a Reply

