Apples ~ Flannel Friday

I did my apple storytime several weeks ago, but am just getting around to sharing it this week.

I made a new felt board inspired by one that Katie (storytimekatie.com) made which in turn had been inspired by by Katie at Storytime Secrets and Anne at So Tomorrow, so obviously a well loved felt board idea!  I used a little bit different poem, which a co-worker found on line, and I added a cute little worm felt piece to the mix.

image
Five Little Apples
(to the tune of Teasing Mr.  Crocodile)

Five little apples hanging in a tree (hold up 5 fingers)
Teasing Mr. Slinky Worm “you can’t eat me!”  (wiggle pointer finger to be worm)
Along comes Mr. Slinky Worm quiet as can be…
And… CRUNCH! (clap hands)

Repeat with 4, 3, 2, 1, little apples.
No more apples hanging from the tree!

image-1

I also re-hashed my older feltboard for 10 Red Apples by Virginia Miller.  In the story the apples start out on the tree as green and as the story progresses the apples turn red.   So I added green felt to the backs of my red apples.  Now as I read the story the kids can come up and turn the apples over (or the librarian can do it if there are more than 10 kids).  I also added the little black kitty just to have an extra piece.

I’ve been trying to do different felt activities with the kids so it’s not always just putting a piece of felt on the board.  Sometimes we add the felt piece to the book,  sometimes they are supposed to take one piece off the board and put a different piece in its place, so just trying to switch it up from time to time!

Cate of the blog Storytiming is hosting Flannel Friday this week.
Be sure to check out all the great felt board ideas at her blog 🙂

5 responses to “Apples ~ Flannel Friday

  1. Pingback: Flannel Friday Round Up: 12-7-2012 «

  2. I love the poem! I can see the kids loving ‘Mr. Slinky Worm.’ Very cute, thanks!

  3. I can’t wait to teach this to my boyz!!! Thanks so very much!

  4. Pingback: Toddler Time: Gardens | Falling Flannelboards

  5. Pingback: A Few of My Favorite Themes: Apples |

Leave a Reply

