Fun new blocks

So I’ve been doing a lot of scrapbooking and scrapbook kit making lately and was ready for a much needed break from the computer and into a more tangible creative outlet.  So I finally got around to making these really fun blocks I saw at the Case Western Reserve Historical Museum.  You can see the original ones here.

I bought a nice piece of wood from Home Depot and cut it down to be little flat squares.  Then I printed out buildings that Fiona and I decided upon.  She wanted American Girl Place and I also suggested our houses, the grandparents’ houses, the library, and a few of our favorite museums.

I cut out these images and used Mod Podge to adhere them to the blocks.  Lexi helped paint on the glue.



After the Mod Podge dried I added a layer of clear spray paint to keep the Mod Podge from sticking to itself when the blocks are piled up together.


This was super easy to do and the blocks are so much fun to play with.  We tried them out with the Brio train and they look great with the set!  I plan to add more pictures of buildings to the backs of each block so they look nice from both sides when being played with.


One response to “Fun new blocks

  1. The custom designed blocks look great, Meghan! Lexi obviously knows exactly what to do with them!

Leave a Reply

