Spooky Halloween Stories

I won’t actually be doing Halloween stories until next week, but decided to post them this week so that any viewers who would like to make their own can hopefully do so in time for their own Halloween stories.  Next week I’ll post my fall feltboards.

I begin each storytime with a simple counting poem (to introduce the theme) and ask the children to count along with me.  But this “feltboard” is an ‘off the board’ feltboard.  I’m really excited to use this next week with my storytime kids to see what they think.  I made the bats out of felt and added details with blue fabric paint.  I found a cool looking stick outside and added some felt leaves.  I attached velcro to the stick and the bats’ feet so they can hang upside down from the branch.  Simply attach them as you read the poem.

Five Little Bats Hanging Upside Down

The first little bat didn’t make a sound.
The second one said, “I’ll fly far tonight.”
The third one said, “I don’t like sunlight.”
The fourth one said, “I want to eat some bugs.”
The fifth one said, “Let me give you a hug!”
Five little bats hanging upside down.
Shhh!  It’s daytime, don’t make a sound.
–from http://misslisswriter.wordpress.com/tag/five-little-bats-hanging-upside-down/


My main feltboard story for Halloween is The Little Old Lady Who Was Not Afraid of Anything by Linda Williams.  To make this felt board I made a frame for the scarecrow to attach to at the end of the story.  I this story the Old Lady is walking through the woods one evening and comes upon clapping gloves, nodding hats, stomping boots, etc.  Later in the evening after she is safely home she whispers to the pumpkin head (who is feeling downhearted that he couldn’t frighten the lady) an idea to be more scary.  In the morning she looks out of the window and sees all the pieces of clothing and the pumpkin head assembled as a scarecrow in her field of corn.

When I use this felt board I put the pieces up on the felt board as I am reading the story, like a normal felt story.  At the end, I put the pieces on the scarecrow frame and the kids shout out what the clothing items have become.  A Scarecrow!!!

I made the frame with two scrap pieces of the paneling we took off the walls in our living room.  Yay for recycling.  Of course any thin scraps of wood would do, or you can purchase thin strips of wood from most craft stores.  They should be with the dowl rods.  I attached little velcro circles to the frame and to the backs of the felt pieces.

Here’s a second counting poem to use later in storytime.  A co-worker found several cute monster poems online and asked me to make some monster finger puppets to go along.  I found some cute monsters online at http://www.folksy.com/items/79153 and made an extra one (inspired by the origial 4 so we would have 5).

Five Little Monsters
Five little monsters sitting on the floor
The red one said, “Let’s knock on someone’s door.”
The green one said, “Let’s act a little scary.”
The yellow one said, “Why are we so hairy?”
The purple one said, “I hear a funny sound.”
The blue one said, “There’s no one else around.”
Then “WHOOSH” went the wind and “EEK!” someone said
So the five little monsters ran under the bed.
– from http://www.preschooleducation.com/smonster.shtml


So a fun and full week of feltboards.  I have so many other older, Halloween feltboards to share if anyone is interested, leave a comment.  They are the usual 5 Little Pumpkins, 5 Little Ghosts, and a short story about a mouse who lives in a jack-o-lantern.

I also made an awesome feltboard to the story Goodnight Goon by Micheal Rex which I used last year for our storytelling in the barn program-It’s so cool we read Halloween stories and poems, do some riddles and jokes, as well as a Halloween Mad Libs where kids in the audience shout out nouns, verbs, etc to make a funny story.   It’s a very fun event.  to make this feltboard I made just the room backgound out of felt and added details with fabric paint and sequin stars.  I simply photocopied and laminated all the characters from the story, so I will only post the felt background I made to give you an idea of the room space.

Here are a few more feltboards for Halloween:
The first poem can either be used with the glove or made larger to be regular felt board pieces. 

Five Little Bats
Five little bats on a dark, dark night.
Five little bats are quite a sight.
Five little bats.  Are you keping score?
One flies away and then there are four.
Four little bats as happy as can be.
One flies away and that leaves three.
Three little bats swooping in towards you.
One flies away and that leaves two.
Two little bats having lots of fun.
One flies away and that leaves one.
One little bat and we’re almost done!
He fleis away and then there are none.
             –from a poem on our storytime index cards at the library

Five Little Pumpkins
Five little pupmpkins sitting on a gate
The first one said, “It’s getting late.”
The second one said, “There are witches in the air.”
The third one said, “But we don’t care.”
The fourth one said, “Let’s run, run, run.”
The fifth one said, “It’s Halloween fun!”
Then WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! went the wind.
And out went the lights.
And five little pumpkins rolled out of sight.

Five Little Ghosts
Five little ghosts all dressed in white
Were scaring each other on halloween night.
“Boo!” said the first one, “I’ll catch you!”
“Woo!” said the second, “I don’t care if you do!
The third ghost said, “You can’t run away from me.”
And the fourth one said, “I’ll scare everyone I see.”
Then the last one said, “It’s time to disappear.”
“See you at Halloween time next year!”
     –from a photocopy at the library (looks like maybe from Mailbox Magazine?)

 

Mouse’s Halloween House

One day in the fall of the year, a little gray mouse found a big orange house.  She nibbled a hole in the middle, to make a door. (place triangle for nose-black side facing up)  And she nibbled two holes up near the top, to make two windows. (place two more triangles above the center one-black side up)  And then she nibbled a wide hole near the bottom, so that all her children could run in and out. (place last piece at bottom)  Then she put a candle inside to light up the darkness. (flip over all the pieces to look like there is light coming from inside)
The mouse’s little house was a sight to be seen.  It was a jack-o-lantern–Happy Halloween!!
         –I printed this out and made this feltboard years ago from a geocities site-so it’s no longer there.
I used glittery yellow fabric glue  on the orangish-yellowish side to look more glittery and sparkly.

And finally one more story based on a book calle The Chocolate Chip Ghost by Meigan Peifer.  I’ve never actually seen this book in person since my library system doesn’t own a copy.  I got the text from a librarian I used to work with at my previous library.

Once there was a family of ghosts.  One day, when the mother was in the kitchen, she noticed that there was nothing to eat and she told her children that she would need to go to the store.  She said to them, “Remember, don’t eat or drink anything.  Ghosts should only eat foods that are white, and I don’t have any of those things.”  So the mother said good-bye and went to the store.

While she was gone, the little ghosts started to get really hungry and went looking for food.
The first ghost opend the friedge and found some lettce and when he ate it he turned GREEN!
The second little ghost found some strawberries outside in the garden and ate a whole basketfull.  Then he turned RED!
The third little ghost picked some oranges from a tree and ate several.  He turned ORANGE!
The fifth  little ghost ate a whole plate of blueberry muffins and before he knew it he had turned BLUE!
The sixth little ghost looked at his brothers and saw all the colors they had turned.  He didn’t want anything to happen so he looked everywhere for food that was white.  In the freezer he found some ice cream that looked like vanilla.  he took it and ate it all.  then he looked at himself.  Oh No! He was POLKA DOT!  He had eaten chocolate chip ice cream.  when the mother came home she looked at all the little ghists and cried, “Oh my goodness!  Look at all of you!”  She called the doctor.  He came and looked at all of the little ghosts and shook his head.  Then he took some medicine out of his bag; he gave each little ghost a spoonful, except the chocolate chip ghost. He had TWO spoonfuls because dots are very hard to make go away.

I have food to go with the story, but I can’t find our general foods feltboard collection at the library.  Once all the food is found I’ll post a picture of them too.

6 responses to “Spooky Halloween Stories

  1. I absolutly love your little monsters, they are soo cute :)

    What are your other felt stories about 5 little ghosts and the mouse in the jack-o-lantern? I’m still in school but I love hearing ideas of things I can try when I’m in the field.
    Courtney

  2. Angela Reynolds

    Love the bats on a stick idea! Thanks!!

  3. Thanks for the comments! Angela, I’ll tack on the other feltboards. I actually have two different versions of 5 little bats. One that I just made this past week for the librarian who does the lap sit program. Those are tiny little bats that she uses with a glove. I’ll post the pictures and poems at the end of this post-hopefully today. :)

  4. Pingback: Flannel Friday — Mouse’s Halloween House | Time for Storytime

  5. I love all of your ideas. How did you make all these or did you order them? are you selling them? Ysela

    • thank you so much! I do not sell these felt pieces, just use them for my storytime at work. I make them by searching google for clip art to use as patterns to make my pieces. I often search for coloring pages of whatever shape I want to make as the lines are simple and easy to replicate onto the felt with paint. once I find a pattern I like, I print it out and pin it to the felt, they I just cut around the pattern. I use fabric glue to paint on the details. Please let me know if you have any other specific questions about the felt pieces :)

Leave a Reply

